what are the qualififcations to teach at an int'l school?

Debs

what are the qualififcations to teach at an int'l school?

Post by Debs »

Hi,

I am currently looking for a job teaching at an international school overseas. I have 6 years experience teaching ESL at private schools in Canada and Korea and am now finishing my Bachelor of Education.

Can anyone tell me if I qualify for international schools overseas? It seems like every job requires 2 years experience, and I am assuming my ESL experience doesn't count.

I have a job offer at a school that sounds great in China, but I just want to make sure there aren't other options in other locations of the world for starting between September and January.

Thanks!
JISAlum

Post by JISAlum »

Yes- do a couple of years in China and then move up on the ladder to a better school. Getting your foot in can be the biggest challenge.
westcoaster

Post by westcoaster »

Since you are doing your B.Ed in Canada, you should be able to apply for certification in your province. Your certification is what's important and make sure you keep your certification up to date.

Definitely, China seems like the best option for newly certified teachers to get their foot in to the international school scene. There seems to be a lot of Canadian International Schools opening up there lately.
durianfan

Post by durianfan »

What is the job offer in China?
Debs

Post by Debs »

Thanks everyone for your very helpful replies! I think I will take the job offer in China.

The job in China is at Maple Leaf school, a BC, Canada curriculum school (which is where I am from) in Dalian or Tianjin. It's a one year (renewable) contract. It pays 44,000, airfare included, and a month long vacation plus the summer vacation. I would be teaching High School.

I am deciding between that, and working in the UAE at an Elementary public school. I dont know the details yet.