Late in the game, but am I too late?

WEEN

Late in the game, but am I too late?

Post by WEEN »

Well, I screwed up and didn't even file an application with ISS until February. Now I'm realizing I may be too late to get a job. Even though I have 5 years US teaching experience, US certification, a Master's, and extensive overseas experience, I am not getting any interviews. I want to know if I should be patient and wait for jobs to open up over the next few months. I really want to work in Thailand, China, Japan, or Europe but will this be possible? I also might attend the ISS fair in Fairfax in June, but is this even worth the money?
WEEN

Post by WEEN »

They didn't even approve me until late February. And to my knowledge, there is nothing "wrong" with me. I am a bit picky in that I don't want to work somewhere you can't go out for a drink. I also have high expectations for schools I guess.

I really want to hear from people who have been to one of the late fairs before. What type of schools were there? Were there still good opportunities? What are the circumstances in which schools would still be at these late fairs?
durianfan

Post by durianfan »

You might be able to get in somewhere in China. I have an interview with Dipont on Monday; not my first choice but it is still IB I believe. Thailand - forget it. I live here and most (if not all) the int'l schools have done their hiring.

I went to the March fair in Bangkok. Very low key. Had 5 interviews, but only 3 were interested. Most schools there were tier 2 or tier 3 schools. Most were from the Mid-East, a few were from China and I think 1 or 2 from Europe.

There are still positions open but it's slim. I have pretty much given up on SEARCH and look at TIE, TES, and school websites for openings.
buffalofan

Post by buffalofan »