New to ISR - Questions re: non-certified spouse and other ??

splendid

New to ISR - Questions re: non-certified spouse and other ??

Post by splendid »

Our family is interested in International teaching. My husband has his masters in education, 12+ years experience and a certificate in administration. I am a pediatric nurse with no teaching experience. We have two children. I am willing to teach - a subject appropriate to my knowledge or work in a school as a nurse. Would they hire a non-native speaker as a nurse? Do schools hire spouses of teachers that are non certified teachers?. Also, how often do schools cover the tuition of dependents. How common is it that schools now use Skype or other means of interview in place of ISS, Search, etc events. Is it worth applying to schools directly. Finally, I have researched family friendly school on this site but any other recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks!
Candycane

Welcome Splendid!

Post by Candycane »

This board seems to be slow lately, but I think it will definitely pick up around here as soon as recruiting is underway.

With your husband's masters in education, 12+ years experience and a certificate in administration, I think he has a good chance of getting a position. If you open to go to many different places, this is an advantage. However, if you only want to go to Europe, not so much.

As a pediatric nurse with no teaching experience, applying as a school nurse is definitely a possibility. I honestly haven't seen openings for a nurse, but I'm not sure if they post those on Search. I've never looked.

Since you are willing to teach - a subject appropriate to your knowledge, I think that's a definite posibility. If I were you, I would apply as a teacher, school secretary, librarian, or an aide, but let them know your other possibilities.

[u]Would they hire a non-native speaker as a nurse?[/u]