Hoping to get my foot in the door

phyrro

Hoping to get my foot in the door

Post by phyrro »

I taught ESL in South Korea for six years and returned to the US summer of last year to acquire a teaching license through the TeacherReady program of Florida (thanks PsyGuy for the info in your various threads). I completed the TeacherReady program in December and the FTCE exams for Florida in January. At the time of enrollment, I wasn't sure if I wanted to teach internationally or not, and since I am a Georgia resident, I also completed the GACE exams and EDTPA requirements for them. I'm now waiting on the Florida DOE to issue my teaching license which I intend to use to acquire a Georgia teaching license (I'll be certified to teach ELA 6-12 in both states).

I have now decided that I want to go back abroad and work at an international school. I have decided that a place like the Middle East might be my best option for earning some money. However, I see many job listings that ask for 2+ years of post-license experience. Are there any legitimate international schools in the Middle East that will hire me with only ~200 hours of student teaching experience on top of six years ESL experience and a year of online teaching experience (worked at DaDa while attending TeacherReady)? If so, what kind of salary should I expect?

I also have a tangential question--if I do find a school willing to give me a foot in the door, should I use my Florida teaching license, the Georgia license, or does it simply not matter?
Thames Pirate

Re: Hoping to get my foot in the door

Post by Thames Pirate »

The two-year thing varies in terms of how seriously people take it. Lots of schools hire straight out of licensure. Lots more don't or even can't based on visa requirements. Some will and some won't acknowledge your pre-licensure teaching.

So there is no easy answer. My advice is always to apply anyway. You can't know if you don't try.
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »