Is Teach-now or Teacher Ready worth the time or money?

KPan

Is Teach-now or Teacher Ready worth the time or money?

Post by KPan »

So what's with these alternative certifications?

I am going to start job hunting next year, hopefully in Latin America. I'll have five years of teaching, two of which were overseas. I teach physical science, Biology and ELL science but could also do Chemistry since I have some experience teaching it and have passed the Chem Praxis (if someone is willing to take me). I can also do middle school if needed. I have a traditional teaching cert.

I'm wondering about an alt cert for my husband. When we went overseas last time he came as a trailing spouse but ended up doing some long term subbing then got hired as a part time elementary PE teacher. But to be honest the trailing spouse thing was a hard sell initially and I was turned down by many recruiters because of this (and lack of experience since I was right out of college). So he is considering whether he might like to try his hand at teaching upper elementary. He has a Bachelors of Liberal Arts with and emphasis in Environmental Studies and an AA in energy technology (not super relevant) but no teaching coursework. We aren't really into spending much on a traditional program either.

Would it be a waste of time and money to try Teach-now or Teacher ready? I don't even know if he is eligible for these without any course work in education?? What is the demand like these days for teachers? It seems like there are fewer jobs from the first time I was applying in 2012 so maybe chances are too slim these days. We also have a toddler that would be trailing too...eek two dependents! Any advice?
wrldtrvlr123

Re: Is Teach-now or Teacher Ready worth the time or money?

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »