Excited, but Confused.

j9.lindsey

Excited, but Confused.

Post by j9.lindsey »

Greetings everyone!!

I have searched this forum up and down, side to side, only to become quite overwhelmed with all of the great information. I am looking for some advice for my situation.

I have worked for the last 10 years in an urban district, with ECE, Elem Ed. and Admin Certs, with the last 4 years being a middle school administrator, math instructional coach, and testing coordinator. I just got my husband onboard with the whole expat life, however of course I have so reservations. We will be traveling with two kids,12 years and 7 years.

I am considering UAE, or East Asia. Here are some of my questions:
Would it be best for me to apply for an admin position or as a teacher with hopes of moving up, since I have no international experience?
What place(s) offer the best packages for teachers with dependents (with free or low cost schooling)?
Also, what area would be best for my children? I have a little girl and of course I have concerns about raising her in the ME.
How restrictive is the ME? We like to have a little fun and don't want to end up locked up/deported because we got a little too comfortable.
Can anyone chime in on life in Asia, specifically around pollution?

To sum it all up, I am looking for the best (and safest) experience for my family that will allow for us to explore a new culture, while being able to save a good amount of money.

Any help that can be offered will be appreciated!
wrldtrvlr123

Re: Excited, but Confused.

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

Hi. It can be a bit over-whelming trying to consider all of the options and possibilities.