TeachNow - Is it worth it?

markadams384

TeachNow - Is it worth it?

Post by markadams384 »

Hi Everyone!

Im a 25 year old British Kinder English Teach currently working in Istanbul, Turkey - I have 3 years teaching experience and this year I work for the Semi-International IB school in Istanbul. I am doing my IB training and currently hold CELTA, and a Masters degree in Chemistry. I am now determined to become a licenced teacher but going back to the UK to train is not an option. My aim is to become competitive for international schools in Japan where I aim to move in 2 years.

Ive been looking at the Teach Now course : – it looks fantastic, easy to do whilst working and gives a state licence in the District of Colombia. From this course, there is no certificate awarded at the end, after completing the course and the required state exams you can directly acquire the state teaching licence.

This sounds great to me but I was wondering how useful this would be in reality – would international schools value the person for having the state teaching licence but no official teaching certificate? Or is the teacher just having the teaching licence the main thing that international schools look for in a candidate?

TeachNow also offers the opportunity to continue the course and also attain a Masters in Education – this is only 3 months extra work (but 7000 USD more!). The MEd is issued by their own school ‘Educator’ and not from an official university. Do you think this would add significant value to me as a candidate international teacher, or the teaching licence and experience would make me a strong candidate by itself? Do you believe the online courses are respected enough in the teaching world?

It is also not NCATE accredited, but has Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).Is this valued and respected?