Firm recruiting in the UK

Georgeyporgey

Firm recruiting in the UK

Post by Georgeyporgey »

I'm totally new to TEFL.

I received an email from a firm offering to recruit me to train and teach in a school in China (Shenzhen). I've not got the qualifications that are normally asked for, but they say that they don't care, they just want native English speakers....They say they pay for accom, I pay bills taxes and tithes, food etc.

I've read some reviews of the organisation, positive and negative.

I've agreed to a phone interview and I wanted to ask the community, what sort of questions should I be asking them?

Thanks all
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

We dont really address a lot of TEFL type issues, you will find a lot more useful information in the forums at Daves ESL Cafe.

1) Your post mentioned training, so that is where I would start. Is the training just you teaching for free and a daily or weekly meeting of a teacher giving a presentation. Is their training certificate worth anything (Cambridge and Delta/Trinity are the gold standards). How many hours is the training (many ESOL vacancies want certificates that include real classroom experience and are at least 100/120 hrs, 210 is becoming more common)?

2) Salary ranges for ESOL range between RMB5K and RMB20K, Shenzhen isnt really expensive (compared to Shanghai), and its a little harder to go crazy with your money, but depending on your lifestyle and quality of living expectations you could be fine or you could be hurting.