Abu Dhabi job offer. any good?

JoJo

Abu Dhabi job offer. any good?

Post by JoJo »

Hey guys, I've been offered a teaching job in Abu Dhabi. I know very little about UAE, just doing my homework now. so I was wondering whether there is someone who can give some tips?? I'm a certified teacher, non-native, holding a Bachelor's degree, I have around 8 years experience teaching;the pay is AED12000( around $3250), all flights, health insurance, visa and other papers covered, accommodation is provided. Work load is 25hrs/week, holidays are paid. Seems like a good deal to me but would like to know your opinion. I hear that Abu Dhabi is more conservative than Dubai and I'm a bit worried about moving around easily as a woman. I'm not too much into partying or going out; all I care for is a fairly decent place to stay (that has kitchen;) ) and a gym. Basically trying to save for my Master's..
Also, I am slightly put off by the length of the contract (2 years). What happens if I decide to break it in the middle? (Not that I am planning to but just asking out of curiosity)
Any tips would be largely appreciated! thx
vandsmith

Re: Abu Dhabi job offer. any good?

Post by vandsmith »

abu dhabi is fine. it may not be as liberal as dubai, but they are pretty close.
you should not have any issues whatsoever walking around as a woman. there are the obligatory stares and glares from some workers, but that's pretty much par for the course for any asian country. you can pretty much wear whatever you want - but most people show some respect for the culture and dress accordingly.

if you're not into the night-life, then you're not missing anything with regards to dubai. abu dhabi has plenty of fine bars, clubs, restaurants if you choose to go out.