Getting a job

creative123

Getting a job

Post by creative123 »

Hello
I have been teaching 14years I really want to teach abroad. I have two children and a husband (who doesn't teach) what is the best route? Apply directly or go to a recruitment consultant? Am I too expensive? I am a good teacher how can I get myself noticed? Thanks
curiousme

Re: Getting a job

Post by curiousme »

You'll get noticed with a great cover letter and CV. You can apply through agencies or direct - I personally prefer the latter.

I've met plenty of people on the international circuit with your profile.

Good luck!
buffalofan

Post by buffalofan »

A lot of schools won't do more than 1 tuition waiver per teacher, unless perhaps you happen to be in Admin. There are still schools out there that would take you on, but you'll have to do a lot of research. The Search database is worth the price of joining.
curiousme

Post by curiousme »

We have more than one tuition waver and never had a problem. In fact, in all the schools in my city, I know people with 2+ children, sometimes with and sometimes without a teaching spouse. A good school will take you if you are the best person for the job, regardless of the number of children. I have had this in writing from at least a couple of top schools so I am sure it's true - not for all, but enough to make it worth pursuing your dream.
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

That's true, curiousme, but it seems to be more the exception than the rule. And with economics changing, less the rule, more the exception.

But I agree with you - if you don't go out and look, you will never know, will you?

Good luck on your search, OP!
hallm

Post by hallm »

Hey everyone... first post.

I just wanted to chime in also. Last year I used tie and applied for jobs with about 10 schools. I had 4 interviews and two offers. For personal reasons, the timing wasn't right and I declined both offers, but just for the record, I have a non-teaching spouse and THREE children.