One year contracts

counselme

One year contracts

Post by counselme »

Hello there, I am a Canadian school counsellor and certified teacher. I have permission to take a leave for one school year in 2016/17 from my full time continuing contract in my school district. I have ten years experience counselling children K-12.
My question is, what schools offer one year contracts? Anyone out there who has had a good 1 yr contract?
Thanks,
Nomads

Post by Nomads »

Counselme,

Very few international schools offer one year contracts. The cost of recruiting, flying the person to country, shipping and relocation allowances make it cost prohibitive. The only one year contracts I have heard about were for people filling maternity leaves or late resignations. These types of openings generally come up in the spring or even summer.
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

Counselme,

Put yourself in the international school's position. When a school hires someone, they prefer that they stay a minimum of two years and preferably more (say five to eight).

Hiring a counselor for one year only makes no sense in that model. Nor does the fact that the first year you are working your way through the year, through the new system, through the new kids - and then you never get a chance to use what you learned at that school again.

Better is to try a one year teacher exchange with a counselor in another country, such as Australia or the UK, who also works in the state system.

Even then, for you it will be a real eye opener. Having taught in a UK government school before, it was totally different in so many ways.

Good luck with your search!
mysharona

Post by mysharona »