filing taxes question

jboeh2

filing taxes question

Post by jboeh2 »

Last year I filed for the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion, thus being exempt for paying any US taxes... we also received no refund. As I am filing now (on Turbo Tax), due to being in America 5 weeks last summer, I did not qualify for the physical presence test. Now, it shows I will be getting $2000 (child tax credit). Does this sound right, as I am "paying taxes" now? Also, do we NEED to apply for the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion, even if we qualify?
wrldtrvlr123

Re: filing taxes question

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

I'm no expert but we used Turbo Tax when we qualified and you have to apply every year for the exclusion. Even if you did not qualify for the physical presence test you should still qualify because your tax base remained in a foreign country (provided your income still came from a foreign country/company). I forget exactly what that one was called (bonofide?). Also, I seem to recall that you could usually play around with the dates so that you had 12 months out of the country (e.g. did not have to be consecutive days, start and end dates could be in different tax/calendar years etc).

As for getting a refund, I'm not sure how that is possible since you haven't actually paid any tax yet (I am assuming you did not make payment and deductions weren't made). Unless I am missing something you should still qualify for the exclusion and would be better off claiming it.

I'm sure someone will come along with more detailed/accurate information/opinions.
mamava

Post by mamava »

My understanding that is that you always have to file. That's true no matter what you earn or where you earn it. In your filing, of course, you would declare all the examptions, including the foreign earned income exclusion. My kids, who earn $1,000 for a summer job and owe nothing, still have to file.
sid

Post by sid »